Early Voting, Pay Gap, Housing Policy and More

Posted on October 26, 2016

Absentee and Early Voting Act: If you’re in one of the many states that still do not have a reasonable system of no-excuse-needed absentee and early voting, you must be feeling left out right now! But you can fix it in time for the next election. The Absentee and Early Voting Act allows voters to cast their ballots by mail or in person prior to Election Day.

Americans overwhelmingly support abortion rights: Political candidates, consultants and the media generally misunderstand how voters feel about state-level abortion rights legislation. PLI commissioned a poll by Ann Selzer (declared “The Best Pollster in Politics” by FiveThirtyEight) to test 13 different model bills. Read the poll results in detail on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Post-Election—How the election results affect politics and policy: Wednesday, November 9 @3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. On the day after the election, Campaign for America’s Future co-director Bob Borosage and Public Leadership Institute president Gloria Totten will analyze both national and state election results and explain how it is likely to change our lives. Register here.

The gender pay gap is real: The Economic Policy Institute just published an in-depth report that explains the gender wage gap (about 80 cents on the dollar) and provides a wealth of information and arguments that support fair pay legislation.

White House toolkit on housing policy: It’s wonky but wonderful. The White House published a Housing Development Toolkit that suggests ten state and local policies (beginning on page 14 of the PDF) to modernize housing planning and development.

Please visit our new website: The PLI website was completely redesigned just weeks ago. You can now hyperlink directly from policy to messaging and from posts to pages. Come look at our redesigned Progressive AgendaVoicing Our ValuesPlaybook for Abortion RightsIdeaLog, and much more!