Resolution Strategy, Hate Speech, Rx Pricing and More

Posted on February 15, 2017

Prescription Drug Fair Pricing Act: A coalition in Maryland has developed the strongest state prescription drug pricing legislation in the nation. It’s divided into two bills, one that prohibits price gouging and another that requires transparency for expensive drugs. At this link, you can also see a terrific 12-page fact sheet written by the Maryland advocates.

Resolution strategy for policy advocates: Progressive policy campaigns usually need to broaden their coalitions and deepen their base of volunteer activists. There is a straightforward strategy to accomplish that which has worked repeatedly but is little known outside the State of Maryland. It’s a Resolution Strategy and it’s described on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to persuade in an era of hate speech and fake news: Wednesday, February 22 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. (What a way to celebrate George Washington’s 285th birthday!) This is a fresh look at what is driving and motivating the radical right, how that is affecting persuadable voters and the progressive base, and what it means for message framing on any issue. This is a moving target so please come share your own ideas. To register, click here.

Interactive map of efforts to roll back mandatory minimum sentencing laws: The Trump Administration is already lying about the crime rate to push for more authoritarian law enforcement as well as harsher criminal penalties. Push back by targeting your state’s mandatory minimum sentencing laws. This state map from FAMM allows you to click on your state and see what’s going on.

Anti-Trump wave lifts and worries Democrats: Read this Boston Globe story and please think about it. The progressive base is way out ahead of average Democratic officeholders. As political leaders, it is in your interest to stand with the base, even if all you can do is introduce resolutions and participate in demonstrations.

PLI’s Repro Rights Report: Our new Repro Rights Report describes and hyperlinks to proactive abortion rights legislation that has been introduced so far in 19 states, as well as links to news clippings about each state effort and PLI’s nationwide “Roe Campaign.”