Constitutional Rescission Resolution, Hold a Press Event, House Health Plan and More

Posted on March 15, 2017

Constitutional Convention Rescission Resolution: As a recent article from the Center on Budget and Policy Priorities explains, the right wing is (perhaps) only six states short of successfully calling a federal constitutional convention—and they’re lobbying eleven states right now. There is no guarantee that such a convention would not trash the entire U.S. Constitution; in fact, that’s what the right wing desires. This model Constitutional Convention Rescission Resolution is based on legislation in Maryland where, like most states, such resolutions were passed decades ago.

How to meet with a lawmaker: When a skilled advocate meets with a lawmaker, it’s mostly an intelligence gathering mission. Every legislator is different; every one of them might have a different concern about the policy. How do you do your best to prepare and what are you trying to get out of the meeting? This is explained on IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to hold a great press event: Wednesday, March 22 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. ProgressNow—one of the leading progressive communications organization in the country—will present a highly practical session showing step-by-step how to hold a very effective press event. If you can’t make it, send staff! To register, click here.

Texas Rep. Jessica Farrar “breaks the Internet”: In less than 36 hours, Rep. Jessica Farrar got more than 100 news stories and reached at least 1.6 million people on social media by introducing an abortion rights “satire” bill called the “Man’s Right to Know Act” that would fine men for “masturbatory emissions outside of a woman’s vagina [as] an act against an unborn child….” Read more here.

Objective information about the ACA and the House health plan: There is a lot of complicated (and sometimes conflicting) data out there about what the Ryan plan does and how people perceive it. A great source for credible and objective information is the Kaiser Family Foundation website.

PLI’s Repro Rights Report: Our updated Repro Rights Report describes and hyperlinks to the very latest legislation and media about 98 proactive abortion right bills in 28 states and localities.