Progressive Economics, Non-Compete Clauses, How to Fight Back and More

Posted on May 24, 2017

Protection Against Unfair Non-Compete Clauses Act: There is widespread abuse of non-compete clauses in employment contracts—even fast food workers, personal care aides and janitors are being forced to sign them. States are starting to prohibit such provisions for lower-wage workers. The Protection Against Unfair Non-Compete Clauses Act is similar to a new Illinois statute.

Create a state or local Progressive Economic Platform: There is a true and politically compelling story about the American economy. The rich have spent decades rigging the system to benefit themselves while dragging down everyone else. But the story needs some state and local illustrations. For ideas about how to create a policy platform to illustrate the economic story, read the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Using Disruption and Creative Strategies to Fight Back: Wednesday, May 31 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Abortion rights advocates in Texas have turned political demonstrations into an art form. They get tremendous publicity—and you can achieve the same for your issues. Come hear how outspent and outnumbered progressive advocates can galvanize the base, draw intense media attention, and make real progress. To register, click here.

Archive of PLI webinars: Perhaps you missed one of our webinars that you wanted to see? You can still watch them! The last 13 webinars are available at

Trump’s Budget: Steals from Working Families to Give Tax Breaks to Billionaires and Big Corporations: While PLI is focused on state and local policy, it is important for you to know about the Trump budget because it would turn your own budgets upside-down. Americans for Tax Fairness provides an excellent analysis coupled with terrific messaging.

Progress in the States & Localities: Once again, we have updated the PLI report on Progress in the States & Localities, which describes proactive progressive legislation that has passed at least one House in the 2017 sessions.