Job Piracy, Ban the Box, Climate Alliance and More

Posted on June 7, 2017

Job Piracy Cease Fire: Nobody likes job piracy (tax breaks and subsidies to attract individual companies) but people think there’s nothing you can do about it. They’re wrong. The Job Piracy Cease Fire Act is an offer by any state or locality to agree with another jurisdiction that “we won’t steal your jobs if you don’t steal ours.”

Now is the time for bold progressive policies: Go on the offensive with big, bold policies; that’s what the times require of you. Americans are tired of politics as usual. The only way to show that we are on their side is to press powerful ideas that show the stark contrast between progressive policies designed to expand rights, opportunity and the well-being of people, and the regressive, anti-government policies designed to dismantle the very programs, economies and institutions people need. Read more in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Political Persuasion 101: Wednesday, June 14 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. In one month, we are publishing the Third Edition of Voicing Our Values: A message guide for lawmakers and advocates. This webinar will summarize the book, explaining five crucial rules for political persuasion and providing examples involving a dozen different issues. To register, click here.

Ban the Box Toolkit for cities, counties and states: The National Employment Law Project (NELP) just published a new Toolkit to help you adopt a “ban the box” policy, so that employers consider a job candidate’s qualifications first, without the stigma of a criminal record.

United States Climate Alliance: Immediately after Donald Trump announced that he was withdrawing from the Paris Agreement on Climate Change, three states formed the United States Climate Alliance to independently uphold the U.S.’s commitment to the Paris Accord. So far, the Alliance includes CA, CT, DE, HI, MA, MN, NY, OR, VT, WA as well as Washington, D.C. and Puerto Rico. Hundreds of mayors have also voiced support. Get your jurisdiction on-board!

National conference for progressive state legislators: PLI is holding a national conference for progressive state legislators in Washington, D.C. from July 7-9. Hotel and registration for elected officials are paid by PLI. Travel scholarships, up to $500 (for economy class only), are available. For our tentative schedule or to register, click here.