Data Privacy Protection, Paid Sick Days, Carbon Farming and More

Posted on July 20, 2017

Data Privacy Protection Act: The private records of millions of people have been compromised by individuals and corporations that have failed to protect electronic records in a manner consistent with industry standards. The Data Privacy Protection Act would require companies to safeguard customers’ private information.

How to answer another ten tough questions: Voicing Our Values 3rd Edition, our newest message guide, explains that, to persuade: (1) begin in agreement, (2) use values, and (3) show listeners how they benefit. But how do you apply that to some of the toughest political questions about creationism, the death penalty, fear of Muslims, tax-and-spend liberalism, “free enterprise,” socialism, and more? See ten more examples in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Paid Sick Days for all Americans: Wednesday, July 26 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Millions of Americans do not have access to a single paid sick day if they become sick, or need time to take care of a sick child or elderly parent. Some states and local communities are responding and taking matters into their own plans to make our economy work for everyone and not just a few. Come hear about progress and opportunity from Ellen Bravo who directs Family Values @ Work, a national network of 24 state and local coalitions helping spur the growing movement for family-friendly such as paid sick days and family leave insurance. Learn how you can become part of the movement and help working families succeed. To register, click here.

Carbon Farming: Last month New York included $50,000 in their budget to study incentives for climate-smart farming practices. Originally a standalone bill, the “Carbon Farming Act” studies tax credits, grants and other programs. You can read more at the National Caucus of Environmental Legislators, here.

Civil Forfeiture: While Attorney General Sessions is looking to expand it, Connecticut became the 14th state to ban civil forfeiture without a criminal conviction. While not flawless, HB 7146, goes a long way to protect innocent citizens from a system that is far too often abused.

New PLI Books now available on Amazon: If you would like a PDF copy of our new Voicing Our Values messaging guide, click here; you can also buy a hard copy on Amazon, here. Similarly, for a PDF copy of our new Preparing to Win advocacy guide, click here; you can also buy a hard copy on Amazon, here.