Truth-telling the Confederacy, Paid Sick Days, Sound Tax Policy and More

Posted on August 16, 2017

White Supremacists Are Terrorists Resolution: The Illinois Senate adopted a resolution that condemns violence and intimidation by white supremacist organizations and calls on law enforcement agencies to protect Americans from such groups in the same manner and with the same fervor used to protect citizens from other manifestations of terrorism. Your assembly, council or commission should adopt a version of the White Supremacists Are Terrorists Resolution.

Truth-telling the Confederacy: As white supremacists and neo-Nazis crawl out of the woodwork and try to infest our communities with hate, it is important to contest their revisionist history. Didn’t your grade-school history book say that the Civil War was about “states’ rights” rather than slavery? Might it have referred to the “War Between the States,” a name that implies the two sides were equally to blame? Wasn’t Robert E. Lee described as a kind man who didn’t really believe in slavery? It is time to recognize Confederate myths and take a series of actions to counter them. Read more in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Paid Sick Days for All Americans (rescheduled): Wednesday, August 23 @ 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Legislation for paid sick days, which can be done in both states and localities, is one of the most popular and impactful things progressives can do. Our presenter, Ellen Bravo who leads Family Values @ Work is a tremendous expert and practical resource. To sign up for this webinar, click here.

Hate Map from the Southern Poverty Law Center: Just look at this map of hate groups and you will be astonished. It shows the locations of 917 such groups across the United States. Check out your own state and locality.

Sound Tax Policy Made a Comeback in 2017: This year “marked a sea change in state tax policy” according to the Institute on Taxation and Economic Policy. Supply-side economics was rejected in places like Kansas and Oklahoma while a number of states enacted or expanded Earned Income Tax Credits as well as other progressive measures.

Read PLI’s new books: The 3rd Edition of Voicing Our Values explains why and how to frame messages and how to talk about a wide variety of issues. Preparing to Win is a handbook explaining every step in the process of issue advocacy. Download them from our website or buy copies through Amazon.