What Happens in Vegas, Health Care Disclosure, Policies for Workers and More

Posted on November 8, 2017

Fair Share Health Care Disclosure Act: More than 60 percent of enrollees in Medicaid and CHIP are members of working families. This means the worker’s employer is being subsidized, which burdens the state treasury and puts responsible employers at a competitive disadvantage. The Fair Share Health Care Disclosure Act directs the Department of Health to list the 50 companies with the highest number of employees who receive state health benefits, in order to promote a clearer understanding of the problem.

What happens in Vegas… stays in Vegas? After the most deadly shooting in American history, authorities and interest groups have put on a master class demonstrating how to bamboozle the media and whitewash unpleasant facts. What is the truth about the murder weapons and the likely motive? See the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Model policies for working Americans: Thursday, November 16 @ 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. Since PLI will be at the National League of Cities Summit next week, we recommend you join a webinar by the National Employment Law Project where top experts will describe model pro-worker policies, including fair chance licensing, overtime laws, paid sick leave, rights of temp workers, and occupational safety & health. To sign up for this webinar, click here.

NELP’s new Fair Chance Licensing Reform Toolkit: 70 million Americans now have some kind of criminal record. At the same time, about one in four jobs require a license. Often, people with criminal records are ineligible for these licenses, even if their offense has nothing to do with the job. A new toolkit from the National Employment Law Project provides resources for legislation to enable people with criminal records to work in licensed professions.

Get America Covered best practices for State and Local Officials: The experts at Get America Covered have created useful documents listing the ways that state and local officials can help get their constituents covered during the Affordable Care Act Open Enrollment period.

Winningest abortion rights policies in 2016 and 2017: Just a handful of strong abortion rights policies have been enacted into law over the past two years, but those are excellent models for proactive campaigns in 2018. For detail, see our Repro Rights Report.