Answering Tough Questions, Bills for Localities, Nullifying the Tax Bill and More

Posted on January 3, 2018

Felony Threshold Reform Act: Felony theft is distinguished from misdemeanor theft by a monetary value. If the item stolen is worth more than, say $500, the crime is a felony while taking an item worth $499 is a misdemeanor. The Felony Threshold Reform Act increases the dollar threshold. A recent study finds that such reforms reduce the number of unjust felony prosecutions, save the state money, and do not affect crime rates.

Ten model bills for cities and counties: Most of the PLI model bills featured in the 2018 edition of the Progressive Agenda work at both the state and local levels. We discuss ten of those models particularly suited for cities and counties in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to answer twenty tough questions: Wednesday, January 10 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. This session is about how to handle a wide range of hostile questions, from specifics like “Should we give special rights to gay people?” and “Do you favor prayer in schools?” to generalities such as “Are you a tax-and-spend liberal? and “Are you a Socialist?” To register, click here.

How liberal states can nullify the GOP tax bill: The Trump tax legislation was designed to punish states that have higher levels of taxation. However, there are ways to get around the new federal law. Economist Dean Baker explains in The American Prospect.

Felony conviction rates, state-by-state: In Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Louisiana and Texas, more than 10 percent of all adults have a felony record. Less than 5 percent of residents have felony convictions in Maine, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Utah and West Virginia. See how your state measures up in a Pew Stateline report.

The Progressive Agenda for 2018: If you are looking for great legislation to sponsor in 2018, check out our brand-new Progressive Agenda for States & Localities which features 50 model bills and hyperlinks to 150 others.