Assault Weapons Ban, Recording of Interrogations, Hacker-Proof Voting Myth and More

Posted on February 28, 2018

Electronic Recording of Interrogations Act: Every year, innocent people are jailed because of false confessions. Every state and locality with a police force can help protect the innocent and convict the guilty by mandating electronic recording of custodial interrogations. In fact, then-State Senator Barack Obama sponsored the first such state law in 2003.

How to Argue for Stronger Gun Laws: Once again, we’re engaged in a debate over gun laws following a horrific massacre. And once again, the pro-gun tactic is to sidetrack the discussion. You need to focus and re-focus the terms of debate or persuadable listeners will go away confused. To read how to do that, including how to respond to specific arguments, see the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to debate a ban on assault weapons: Wednesday, March 7 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. It is the appalling truth that the next gun massacre is inevitable and will occur soon. As children die, this Congress will continue to do nothing. Nevertheless, it is time for us to speak out. This session will discuss what to say and how to say it. Register here to join us.

Variable highway speed limits are here: At least 15 states now use variable speed limits, with highway signs that change depending on weather or traffic conditions according to an article in Pew’s Stateline. A Wyoming study found that crashes were the lowest in 10 years after the signs were installed.

The Myth of the Hacker-Proof Voting Machine: Voting machine manufacturers say they can’t be hacked because they’re not connected to the Internet. Not so, explains an analysis in the New York Times Magazine. Many machines are equipped with remote access software which local election boards are either unaware of or do not fully understand.

Repro Rights Report: Reproductive rights legislation doesn’t have to be limited to state legislatures. Our latest report focuses on proactive progressive legislation at the city and county levels.