Community Schools, Non-Verbal Persuasion, Teacher Pay and More

Posted on September 12, 2018

Resolution in Support of Community Schools: This resolution promotes community schools as a way to improve student achievement by providing services and programs that address out-of-school barriers to learning. The Resolution in Support of Community Schools can be adjusted to apply to states, cities, counties, towns or school boards.

The importance of non-verbal persuasion: How do you spend most of your time when preparing to give a speech? If you are like most advocates and policymakers, your answer is on the content or the words. You might even think the content is all that matters. But in fact, the words you say can be easily overridden by how you say them. For an explanation, read the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Strategies for Advancing Pregnant Workers Fairness: Monday, September 17 @ 1pm Eastern, Noon Central, 11am Mountain, 10am Pacific. This is a special video conference briefing from the National Women’s Law Center about ways to promote pregnant worker fairness legislation, especially in more conservative jurisdictions. To register for the webinar, click here.

Community Schools Playbook: This brand-new resource guide, which includes model legislation and messaging advice, comprehensively discusses the policy of Community Schools and details four key pillars: Integrated Student Supports, Expanded and Enriched Learning Time and Opportunities, Active Family and Community Engagement, and Collaborative Leadership and Practices.

Wage gap between public school teachers and other college graduates: Look first at the graphs in the Economic Policy Institute’s recent report “The teacher pay penalty has hit a new high.” In general, over the past 20 years, average teacher pay (adjusted for inflation) has declined while the pay of all other college graduates has increased by about ten percent. The wage gap is listed by state and the worst five are AZ, NC, OK, CO and VA.

The Progressive Agenda: The fifth annual edition of PLI’s Progressive Agenda for States & Localities provides more than 200 ideas for legislation on a very wide range of topics, from health and public safety to social services and voting.

SHARE