Ombudsman Act, Advocacy Campaign, Fair Pay and More

Posted on June 21, 2017

Community Service Ombudsman Act: At the city, county and state levels, nonprofit organizations provide a great deal of the social services that residents need. The Community Service Ombudsman Act creates an office of ombudsman whose job is to help those nonprofits in their interactions with government, allowing them to provide even more and better services.

Available in two weeks—Voicing Our Values: A messaging guide for policymakers and advocates, Third Edition: If you describe our policies issue-by-issue, most Americans are progressive. But persuadable Americans, the ones who swing advocacy and political campaigns one way or another, don’t vote based on a list of issues. When they engage in politics, they’re mostly asking themselves a much broader question—who is on my side? Read more about how to persuade in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to run a successful advocacy campaign: Wednesday, June 28 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. To make progress, progressives need to go on the offensive and execute thorough and efficient advocacy campaigns, involving both lawmakers and advocates. This webinar will describe the advice in our new book, Preparing to Win: A guide for successful advocacy. To register, click here.

Straight out of college, women make about $3 less per hour than men: The Economic Policy Institute just published a study showing that young men are paid substantially more than their women peers right out of college. This data makes the case, once again, for fair pay legislation.

Database of police shootings: The Washington Post has a continuously updated database of police shootings. So far in 2017, 452 people have been shot and killed by police. There are also separate databases that detail police shootings of 991 people in 2015 and 963 in 2016.

Repro Rights Report: So far in 2017, 133 proactive abortion-out-loud bills have been introduced in 33 states and four localities. Most recently, a coalition of Michigan lawmakers and advocates coordinated the high-profile introduction of ten abortion rights measures. Read the latest edition here.