Fracking Prohibition, Internet Privacy, Regulating Drones and More

Posted on April 26, 2017

Fracking Prohibition Act: Hydraulic fracturing, known as “fracking,” is an extremely dirty method of drilling for oil and gas. Numerous studies have found that fracking is linked to a wide variety of negative health outcomes. That is why Maryland recently became the first state with reachable reserves to ban fracking. Our model Fracking Prohibition Act is very simple and tracks the new Maryland law.

How to earn more media coverage: It is rare for progressive legislation to succeed without a great deal of publicity. Special interest legislation flourishes in the dark, but our side needs the light. How do you get the media to shine a spotlight on your policies? See the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

Legislation to protect Internet privacy: Wednesday, May 3 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. As the federal government steps back from Internet privacy protections, state and local lawmakers are stepping forward. This webinar will explore emerging technologies used to collect and analyze personal data, how this information is or can be misused, and what policymakers are doing to protect Americans. To register, click here.

Cities, States Seek to Protect Immigrants’ Data from Federal Officials: Stateline reports that both state and local lawmakers are concerned that the federal Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) agency may try to obtain data to target immigrants, and are considering various solutions to block access.

States and localities are regulating the use of drones: There are laws restricting drones in 31 states and 133 localities, according to a recent report by the Center for the Study of the Drone at Bard College. The National Conference of State Legislatures has its own report, and here is a short memo about the legal issues.

Progress in the States & Localities: Once again, we have updated the PLI report on Progress in the States & Localities, which describes proactive progressive legislation that has passed at least one House in the 2017 sessions.