Ban the Box, Tough Policy Questions, Argue Against Trumpcare, and More

Posted on July 6, 2017

Ban the Box Act: Over the past several years, more than 150 states, cities and counties have enacted legislation to remove from employment applications the check box that asks if the job candidate has a criminal record. Our Ban the Box models are based on language recommended by the National Employment Law Project.

How to answer ten tough questions: Our new messaging book, Voicing Our Values 3rd Edition, explains that, to persuade: (1) Always begin in agreement, (2) Use values, and (3) Show listeners how they benefit. But how do you apply that to some of the toughest political questions concerning abortion, guns, LGBTQ rights, school vouchers, climate change, and the like? See ten examples in the latest IdeaLog, our blog intended to raise eyebrows and engage minds.

How to argue against the current federal health care legislation: Wednesday, July 12 at 3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 1pm Mountain, Noon Pacific. The legislation to repeal the Affordable Care Act that passed the U.S. House and is pending in the U.S. Senate is simply horrific. But what’s the most effective way to argue against it? This webinar will be led by Richard Kirsch who was the National Campaign Manager for Health Care for America Now, author of the book “Fighting for Our Health,” and an expert on political messaging. To register, click here.

New edition of Voicing Our Values: A message guide for policymakers and advocates: Come see and download our brand new 3rd Edition of Voicing Our Values. This version explains why and how to frame messages and how to talk about progressive economics. Then it launches into 12 chapters explaining how to approach just about any domestic issue. And it ends with a new discussion about how our messaging fits together with progressive philosophy.

Brand new book, Preparing to Win: A guide for successful advocacy: We have launched a completely new product, a how-to book for policy advocacy. Preparing to Win explains what needs to be done before you start lobbying for new legislation, how to build relationships with policymakers, the media, coalition partners and grassroots volunteers, and what’s the best way to track lawmakers, construct a persuasive letter, hold a meeting with policymakers, and testify at a hearing.

Progress in the States and Localities Report: Once again, we have updated the PLI report on Progress in the States & Localities, which describes proactive progressive legislation that has passed at least one House in the 2017 sessions.